Gato Barbieri: Caliente (1976)

  • Audio CD (October 25, 1990)
  • Original Release Date: 1976
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: A&M
  • ASIN: B000002GC0
  • A&M 1976. Produced by Herb Alpert CD.

Track Listings

  1. Fireflies
  2. Fiesta
  3. Europa (Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile)
  4. Don’t Cry
  5. Rochelle
  6. Adios (1)
  7. I Want You
  8. Behind The Rain
  9. Adios (2)

  • Ralph MacDonald
  • Eric Gale
  • David Spinozza
  • Lenny White – drums
  • Don Grolnick – keyboards, synthesizer
  • Joe Beck – guitar
  • Gary King – bass
  • Gato Barbieri – tenor saxophone
  • Mtume – percussion
  • Eddy Martinez – keyboards
  • Cachete Maldonado

The album on which a fire-breathing revolutionary transformed himself into a smooth Latin love man, under the guidance of producer Herb Alpert and associate producer Michelle (Mrs. Gato) Barbieri. The rhythm tracks are tight and funky in a facile ’70s fuzak sort of way, and Jay Chattaway’s CTI-inspired orchestrations sound dated and corny. The arrangements conspire to stifle the Third World scream in Barbieri’s raw and impassioned tenor sax tone. Yet he still manages to mate the steamy temperament of the tango with upscale funk on covers of Santana’s „Europa“ and Marvin Gaye’s „I Want You.“– Rick Mitchell

Siehe auch:

Please rate this

1 Kommentar

  1. anonym

    Juli 26, 2008 um 9:00 am

    mehr so als Erinnerung an die 76 & george

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.