10811910. sy475

Zwölf Kurzgeschichten sowie der letzte Teil der Rabbit-Serie. Mehrere Handlungsstränge kommen hier zusammen, wenn Harry „Rabbit“ Armstrongs Nachfahren die Erinnerung an den Toten wach zu halten versuchen und gleichzeitig ihre eigenen Lebensläufe mit allen Komplikationen und Konflikten weiterführen.

In this brilliant late-career collection, John Updike revisits many of the locales of his early fiction: the small-town Pennsylvania of Olinger Stories, the sandstone farmhouse of Of the Farm, the exurban New England of Couples and Marry Me, and Henry Bech’s Manhattan of artistic ambition and taunting glamour.

To a dozen short stories spanning the American Century, the author has added a novella-length coda to his quartet of novels about Harry “Rabbit” Angstrom. Several strands of the Rabbit saga come together here as, during the fall and winter holidays of 1999, Harry’s survivors fitfully entertain his memory while pursuing their own happiness up to the edge of a new millennium.

Love makes Updike’s fictional world go round—married love, filial love, feathery licks of erotic love, and love for the domestic particulars of Middle American life.

(Rabbit Angstrom #5)

Hardcover, 256 pages
Translater Maria Carlsson
Published September 28th 2005 by Rowohlt Verlag GmbH (first published November 7th 2000)
Original Title Licks of Love: Short Stories and a Sequel, „Rabbit Remembered“
ISBN 3498068806 (ISBN13: 9783498068806)

Please rate this